ZetaChain
A four-year-old cross-chain L1 whose holders voted on 20 September 2026 to halt the chain, move ZETA to Solana and re-underwrite it against Anuma, a multi-model AI app with encrypted on-device memory. The memory is well built and verifiable at rest; the live path runs every message through Anuma's own gateway and embedding server, and the one on-chain meter for ZETA has been paused since June.
The best consumer-facing encrypted AI memory we have reviewed, bolted to a token whose only surviving job is to be held. Anuma's memory is ciphertext on your device and plaintext on Anuma's wire. The chain that gave ZETA gas, staking and a vote has voted to switch itself off, and the credit programme the migration pitch leans on is an off-chain ledger the company reprices at will.
- + Verifiable encryption at rest: open SDK, HKDF-derived AES-GCM key held in memory, the same strings present in the production bundle
- + A working multi-model product with 1,008 model ids, private mode on open-weight models, mobile and SMS, and a named Delaware entity
- + Broad exchange access and a fixed 2.1B cap with vesting Proposal 68 leaves unchanged
- − Anuma's gateway and self-hosted embedding model see every message in plaintext; the client and backend are closed
- − The on-chain lock contract has been paused since June; the live credit programme is an off-chain ledger at a rate the company sets
- − A 7-member admin group, a 1-of-7 emergency policy and a self-built TSS drain with no governance gate, on a chain with no halt date
ZetaChain scores 39/100 (Grade F): a centralised AI product with a token bolted on, where the one decentralised component the token had, the L1, has voted to remove itself. Anuma's encrypted-at-rest memory is a well-built and verifiable piece of engineering, and it earns the project's best dimension. The live path around it (Anuma's gateway and embedding server see every message in plaintext), the company-run credit ledger that now defines what ZETA does, a 7-member admin group with 1-of-7 emergency power, and a self-built mechanism to drain TSS custody without a vote define the rest.
Infrastructure decentralisation7/20 Verified
The L1 today is permissionless proof-of-stake with 44 bonded validators, but top-heavy (Nakamoto coefficient 4, top-8 = 70.3%) and voted to be switched off. Everything the AI product runs on is one company: the Portal API, the self-hosted Bifrost gateway 'in our own cluster', the self-hosted embedding model, the credit ledger, the moderation layer. After migration the decentralised part is Solana, which ZetaChain neither runs nor secures. Band 5-8: multiple operators exist for now, the product is single-entity.
“Anyone can run a validator to earn rewards by securing the network.” source →
44 bonded validators, 455.1M ZETA bonded; top-4 = 37.8% (Nakamoto 4), top-8 = 70.3%; min commission 5%; 21-day unbond; slashing 1% double-sign, 0.1% downtime (x/slashing params). The x/authority module gives a 7-member group (threshold 6 of 8 weight) admin messages including MsgUpdateContractBytecode, MsgUpdateSystemContract and MsgMigrateTssFunds, and a 1-of-7 'groupEmergency' policy. LCD reads.
Verified Entry to the validator set is open. Stake is concentrated, and a 7-member authority group holds admin messages that include contract bytecode updates and TSS fund migration.
Governance decentralisation6/20 Verified
Token voting is real and decided the chain's fate (Proposal 68: 99.44% Yes, 58.3% turnout), but 74.5% of supply went to insiders, treasury and ecosystem pools, the x/authority module gives a 7-member group 6-of-8 admin power and any one of seven emergency power, and the vote's Yes came from 73 non-validator addresses plus four large validators while the top five validators (46% of stake) abstained by not voting. The core team writes Proposal 2 and decides the mechanism; Anuma's credit rate is set by the company; nothing is defined for Solana. Band 5-8.
“ZETA holders approved this proposal with 99.4% in favor.” (2026-09-20) source →
Final tally on chain: Yes 263,651,809 ZETA (99.44%), Abstain 752,300 (0.28%), No 744,658 (0.28%), Veto 0; 265.1M voted of 455.1M bonded (58.3% turnout, 40% quorum). 98 vote transactions from 87 addresses: 14 of 44 validators voted (133.7M stake, 12 Yes, 1 No, 1 Abstain); the five largest validators (OmniChain1, Blockchain.com, OmniChain2, MP1, RockX, 46.2% of stake) did not vote; 73 non-validator addresses cast the other ~131M, 69 of them Yes. Proposer zeta14m8s4x036jkjnfnkw92004zweh5prqzq69n880. Votes are pruned after tally, so this comes from tx search. LCD reads; validator operator addresses re-encoded to account addresses (bech32) to attribute votes.
Verified The share matches the on-chain tally. Turnout was 58.3% of bonded stake, and the five largest validators did not vote.
Token distribution fairness5/15
Core contributors 22.5%, purchasers and advisors 16%, treasury 24%, ecosystem fund 12%: 74.5% under insider or company control, against 25.5% for user growth, validator emissions and liquidity. Vesting is meaningful (contributor and purchaser schedules run to about February 2028 and Proposal 68 leaves them unchanged), which is what lifts this above the 0-3 band. No public sale. Band 4-6.
Censorship resistance4/15 Verified
Anuma is an account-based company product: the shipped bundle carries an account_suspended path, the help centre describes 'safety screening' that quarantines content and a moderation filter on memory saves, and the default routes go to OpenAI, Anthropic, Google and xAI with their usage policies attached. Private mode (open-weight models on Anuma's own servers, enforced server-side) is the mitigation and it is still Anuma's server. On the chain side the core team shipped a centrally triggered drain for every TSS-held asset with no governance message. Band 4-6.
“Withdrawals will remain open for a defined wind-down period so existing users can move funds out cleanly.” (2026-06-01) source →
crosschain_flags: isInboundEnabled=false, isOutboundEnabled=true. The TSS still holds 90.88 ETH (0x70e9...FD83, nonce 79,218) and 1.772 BTC (bc1qm24...el6y), and the Ethereum ERC20 custody 0x0Bad...23B5 holds 63,643 USDT and 36,240 USDC. The node repo carries RFC 002 'Emergency TSS native-fund drain (crosschain shutdown)' and a mainnet drain build (release drain-mainnet-20260826) that moves ~100% of TSS-held native funds to fixed non-TSS 'safe' addresses on a trigger from a centrally hosted, operator-signed Drain API, with 'zero zetacore changes' (no vote). Both safe receivers held 0 on 2026-09-21, so it has not fired. LCD + RPC reads; GitHub contents API; mempool.space address API.
Verified Inbound is disabled and outbound stays enabled, as stated. The node repository also carries an emergency drain build that would move TSS-held native funds to fixed addresses on an operator-signed trigger, with no vote; it had not fired on 2026-09-21.
Data sovereignty9/15 Overstated
The at-rest design is the best part of the project and it is verifiable: an MIT SDK encrypts messages, vault entries and files with AES-GCM under a wallet-derived HKDF key held only in memory, the production bundle carries the same code paths, export and delete work, and backups go encrypted to the user's own Drive, Dropbox or iCloud. The live path is where it breaks: every message is sent in plaintext to Anuma's embedding endpoint and every prompt plus recalled memory transits Anuma's gateway, so 'Anuma servers cannot read your memory' is true of the store and false of the pipe; PII redaction is regex and opt-in; the key is derived by a Privy embedded wallet signing silently, so custody is Privy's split-key model; the client is closed source. Band 7-9.
“Before anything leaves your device, your memory is encrypted with a key derived from your wallet, a key only you hold.” source →
The at-rest half holds: @anuma/sdk (MIT, github.com/anuma-ai/sdk, commit e897ded 2026-09-18) encrypts messages, titles, vault entries and files with AES-GCM under an HKDF key derived from a wallet signature (info string anuma-sdk-aes-gcm-v3), held in memory only, and the shipped chat.anuma.ai bundle carries that string, the enc:v3: prefix and the backup flow. The live path does not: every message is POSTed in plaintext to Anuma's /api/v1/embeddings (src/lib/memoryEngine/generate.ts, default model qwen/qwen3-embedding-8b, which Anuma hosts itself) so the vector can be stored, and every prompt plus any recalled memory transits Anuma's self-hosted Bifrost gateway on the way to the model. Regex PII redaction is opt-in. The key comes from a Privy embedded wallet signing silently, so custody is Privy's split-key model, not a key 'only you hold'. The production client (zeta-chain/ai-memoryless-client) is private. Clone of the SDK at depth 1; download of every /_next/static chunk referenced by chat.anuma.ai and string search; cross-read against the vendor's own gateway post.
Overstated Encryption at rest matches the page. The live path does not: every message goes to Anuma's embeddings endpoint in plaintext, prompts and recalled memory transit Anuma's own gateway, and the key is derived through a Privy embedded wallet, so custody follows Privy's split-key model.
Open source transparency8/15
The node, the protocol contracts and the Anuma SDK are MIT; the ZetaStaking and ANUMA contracts are verified on ZetaScan; sixteen audit reports are public; the MiCAR white paper names the Delaware entity, its management body and gives a qualitative financial history. Against that: the Anuma client and backend are private, the 25 August security patch was applied privately and published nine days later, the credit rate is behind auth and 'can change over time', and no Anuma revenue or usage figure is independently reportable. Band 7-9.
Overall returns potential is weak at 32/100. Strongest dimension: liquidity & access (8/15). Weakest: value accrual (3/20).
Token utility8/20 Overstated· 2 checks
Gas, staking and voting on an L1 that has voted to shut, plus a stake-for-credits programme the company reprices at will. The on-chain lock contract has been paused since June with 159 ANUMA ever minted.
“Lock ZETA, receive credits, and spend them on AI usage. Locked ZETA comes out of circulating supply.” (2026-09-17) source →
The lock contract (ZetaStaking 0x6197...C58D) has stakePaused=true since 24 June 2026 and claimPaused=true since 3 July 2026; about 93,700 ZETA remain in it and 159 ANUMA were ever minted. The live Token Dashboard instead reads ordinary x/staking delegation (21-day unbond, no lock) and grants USD credits in Anuma's off-chain ledger at a rate the company sets; delegated ZETA is bonded, not removed from supply, and ZetaChain's own docs say third parties may count it as circulating. cast call against the allthatnode archive RPC; cast logs in 100k-block windows from block 15,985,942 to 18,970,511 for every ZetaStaking event; Blockscout v2 API for verified source; Chrome read of the signed-in Token Dashboard.
Overstated Graded as of the statement date. The lock contract had stopped accepting stake on 24 June, almost three months before the post, and the live credit path is ordinary delegation, which bonds ZETA without removing it from supply. The same sentence appears in the on-chain summary of Proposal 68, which passed.
“Locked ZETA earns a 12% annual reward rate in Anuma Tokens.” (2026-06-01) source →
Deployed 13 May 2026 (block 15,985,942) by EOA 0xfa79...5512, which holds DEFAULT_ADMIN_ROLE alone. First stake 22 May. RewardRateUpdated on 5 June cut the rate from 1.68 to 0.48 ANUMA per ZETA per year (-71%). stake paused 24 June, claim paused 3 July, withdrawImmediate added 3 July. Lifetime: 79 stakers, 347,842 ZETA in, 253,971 ZETA withdrawn immediately, 159.19 ANUMA minted, about 93,700 ZETA still inside. Re-read 2026-09-29: about 83,691 ZETA still inside (93,701 on 2026-09-24), with stake and claim both still paused. Full event scan (Upgraded, RoleGranted, RewardRateUpdated, StakePausedChanged, ClaimPausedChanged, Staked, Claimed, ImmediateWithdrawal) plus eth_call reads, 2026-09-21.
Out of date Dated 1 June. Four days later the contract cut the reward rate by 71%, stake was paused on 24 June and claims on 3 July, so the offer is no longer available on-chain. The post still carries it. A single EOA holds DEFAULT_ADMIN_ROLE on the lock contract.
Value accrual3/20
No fee share, no buyback, no product burn. The credit programme spends company money on holders; delegation is a 21-day unbond, not a lock, and aggregators count bonded ZETA as circulating.
Supply dynamics9/20 Editorial
Fixed 2.1B cap, 76.5% circulating per CoinGecko (unverified). About 30% of today's float still vests to February 2028, the treasury is 24%, and the migration adds an unaudited SPL mint with no snapshot date.
ZETA supply on the L1 is attested on-chain, but circulating supply follows the team's vesting schedule and cannot be checked on-chain. The chain attests 1,709,179,682 ZETA on the L1 (x/bank) and 455.1M bonded; the cross-chain 2.1B total and circulating supply follow the team's schedule. Walking the published allocation table to month 31 gives roughly 68% released, and ZetaChain's docs say third parties may count staked ZETA as circulating. LCD reads; arithmetic over the published unlock schedule (approximate, month 31 from Feb 2024).
Editorial Only the L1 bank supply is banded, because it is the one component the chain attests.
Revenue sustainability4/25 Editorial· 2 checks
Paid plans exist and nothing is disclosed; the integrity verdict is unverifiable. The one independent figure is DeFiLlama's L1 gas: $13.57 in the 30 days to 21 September. Four inference requests per sign-up on the company's own numbers.
Gas fees on the ZetaChain L1 are negligible, and neither ZetaChain nor Anuma publishes a revenue figure. $32.26 gas fees in 30 days, re-read 2026-09-29 ($19.12 on 2026-09-24, $13.57 on 2026-09-21), against $363,282 all-time (DeFiLlama chain adapter). GET of the DeFiLlama chain fees overview and chains list.
Established L1 gas is not protocol revenue. The 30-day figure is banded because the all-time total only rises.
Anuma sells subscriptions and credit packs but publishes no revenue or subscriber figures, and no independent source measures them. Token Terminal __NEXT_DATA__ read; DeFiLlama protocol list search; portal.anuma.ai /api/v1/subscriptions/plans and /credits/packs are auth-gated.
Editorial Prices are listed on anuma.ai/pricing. Billing runs off-chain and the plan and credit-pack endpoints are behind sign-in.
Liquidity & access8/15
49 CoinGecko pairs, Coinbase, OKX and Bybit listed, no Binance spot. Vote-week volume ran 1.5x market cap, 54% of it on Korean won pairs. 97.9% below ATH, all-time low set on 14 August 2026, and every pair must re-list an SPL token.
Not financial advice. Scores are opinions, not recommendations. Crypto is high-risk – you could lose everything you invest. Full disclaimer.
Embed this rating
The badge updates automatically when the score changes.
On this page
Delegate, bind, receive credits, spend: a stake-for-access loop with no flow back
ZETA is delegated to a ZetaChain validator, a bound external wallet proves ownership by signature, and Anuma's off-chain ledger grants USD-denominated AI credits against the staked balance at a rate the company sets, expiring monthly. Credits are spent on models through Anuma's self-hosted gateway. Nothing is burned, no fee returns to the token, and the on-chain lock contract that minted ANUMA has been paused since June 2026. Proposal 68 moves ZETA to a Solana SPL token and winds the L1 down; what staking becomes there is undefined.
What it does
ZetaChain launched in February 2024 as a Cosmos-SDK L1L1Layer 1. A base blockchain that runs its own consensus mechanism, executes transactions, and settles its own state. Bitcoin, Ethereum, NEAR, and Solana are all L1s. Anything built on top of an L1 is technically a Layer 2 or higher.Like the foundation of a building. Nothing else can exist on top until the foundation is solid. Different L1s make different tradeoffs for what kind of building they can support.L1 in the glossary → whose job was cross-chain plumbing: a threshold-signature wallet held native assets on Ethereum, Bitcoin, Solana and seven other chains, and smart contracts on ZetaChain could move them. On 1 June 2026 the team announced it was sunsetting that entire business. On 17 September it put Proposal 68 to token holders: halt the chain, migrate ZETA one-for-one to a Solana SPL token, and make the company’s consumer AI app the reason the token exists. It passed on 20 September with 99.44% of votes in favour.
That app is Anuma. It’s a multi-model chat product with 1,008 model ids behind one self-hosted gateway, where you can switch between Claude, GPT, Gemini, Grok and a set of open-weight models without losing context. The context is the product. Anuma keeps a per-wallet memory store on your device, encrypted with a key derived from a wallet signature, and two client-side tools let whichever model you’re using search it: a Memory Engine that embeds every message, and a Memory Vault of curated facts.
The company is Meta Protocol, Inc., a Delaware corporation registered in July 2021 with its head office in San Francisco. Its MiCAR white paper names Ankur Nandwani (ex-Coinbase, Brave and 0x), Panruo Wu (an early THORChain contributor) and Charlie McCowan as the management body. It raised $27M of equity in August 2023 from Blockchain.com, Human Capital, Vy Capital, Jane Street and others. Blockchain.com also runs the second-largest validator.
When the chain is gone, what does ZETA do inside an app that routes inference to OpenAI, and is “private memory” sovereign or a branded database? To answer that I read the open SDK, pulled the 101 JavaScript chunks the production app serves, read the contracts the app talks to, and scanned every event they ever emitted.
Value proposition
Encrypted on-device memory
AES-GCM under a wallet-derived key held only in memory, in an MIT SDK the shipped app uses, with export, delete and encrypted backups to your own cloud.
One memory across every model
Memory Engine and Memory Vault give Claude, GPT, Gemini, Grok and open models the same recalled context, routed through one self-hosted gateway.
Plaintext on the wire
Every message is sent to Anuma's embedding server and gateway in the clear, PII redaction is regex and opt-in, and the client is closed source.
Fact: the encryption at rest matches the marketing. The @anuma/sdk package is MIT-licensed and public. Messages, conversation titles, vault entries and uploaded files are encrypted with AES-GCM under a 256-bit key derived through HKDF from a wallet signature, the key lives in a JavaScript map and dies on page reload, and backups go to your own Google Drive, Dropbox or iCloud as encrypted blobs. The production bundle at chat.anuma.ai carries the same HKDF info string and ciphertext prefix, so the design and the shipped code agree.
Take: the sovereignty stops at the disk. To make memory searchable the SDK posts each message’s text to Anuma’s /api/v1/embeddings endpoint, where a Qwen3-Embedding-8B model that Anuma hosts turns it into a vector. Every prompt, and every memory chunk recalled into it, then transits Anuma’s Bifrost gateway on the way to the model provider. Anuma’s own gateway post says the backend keeps only the model, token count and cost, and I have no reason to doubt it; I also have no way to check it, because the client and the backend are closed source.
So “Anuma servers cannot read your memory, even if compelled to”, the how-memory-works page’s words, is true of the store and false of the pipe. The store is ciphertext; the pipe carries every word that goes into the store, in the clear, past Anuma’s servers, twice. That’s the same shape we found in Walrus Memory: an ownership layer that’s yours, wrapped around a live path that isn’t. Anuma’s version is better engineered and worse disclosed.
“A key only you hold” is derived by a Privy embedded wallet signing a fixed message silently, with no prompt, whenever the app runs in your session. Privy’s split-key model means neither Privy nor Anuma can sign alone, which is a fair definition of self-custody for a consumer product. It’s still a custodian’s definition, and the help centre confirms the same embedded wallet can’t be used for staking, so the “AI identity” and the “ZETA holder” are two different wallets.
Tokenomics
ZETA has a fixed 2.1 billion cap. Allocation at launch, from the project’s own distribution page:
- Protocol treasury: 24% (2% at launch, the rest over 36 months from month 12)
- Core contributors: 22.5% (six-month cliffCliffA waiting period at the start of a token vesting schedule during which no tokens unlock at all. After the cliff ends, tokens begin releasing according to the vesting schedule.Like a probationary period at a new job. You don't get your stock options on day one. You wait 12 months to prove you'll stick around, then everything starts unlocking normally.Cliff in the glossary →, then monthly to about February 2028)
- Purchasers and advisors: 16% (same shape)
- Ecosystem growth fund: 12% (1.5% at launch, then over 42 months from month 6)
- User growth pool: 10% (airdropsAirdropDistributing tokens for free to eligible wallets, usually to reward early users, bootstrap a community, or decentralise token ownership away from a small group of insiders at launch.Like a supermarket handing out free samples to people who already shop there. The samples cost the supermarket nothing to print. The goal is to convert casual shoppers into loyal customers by giving them something tangible to talk about.Airdrop in the glossary →, XP campaigns)
- Validator incentives: 10% (block emissions over four years)
- Liquidity incentives: 5.5%
Insiders and purchasers take 38.5%; company-controlled pools take another 36%. The community share is the 25.5% paid out through stakingStakingLocking up a cryptocurrency to help secure a blockchain network, usually in exchange for rewards. The locked tokens act as a security deposit that can be taken away if the staker misbehaves.Like putting down a large rental deposit for an apartment. You get the money back if you behave, you earn interest while it's locked, and the landlord takes it if you trash the place.Staking in the glossary →, airdrops and liquidity programmes. CoinGecko and CoinMarketCap both carry 76.5% circulating, which is one figure, not two: CMC restates CoinGecko. The chain itself attests 1.709 billion ZETA on the L1, and walking the published vesting table to month 31 lands nearer 68%, so I’ve treated the aggregator number as unverified.
Emissions are 6.75 ZETA a block, which at the 3.75-second block time I measured is about 56.8 million a year, 2.71% of the cap, three-quarters of it to validators. On the 455 million bonded that’s the 9.37% APR the Anuma dashboard advertises. Proposal 68 says those rewards run until the halt height that Proposal 2 will set. What staking becomes on Solana is, in the team’s words, “under active exploration”.
Fact: the token’s link to Anuma has changed form three times in four months. On 1 June a ZetaStaking contract went live on the ZetaChain EVM (lock ZETA, earn a non-transferable ANUMA token at 12% a year, burn ANUMA for credits one to one), and on 5 June the admin cut its rate by 71%. On 24 June it paused new locks, on 25 June the programme was relaunched as “stake to any validator and we read your balance”, and on 3 July it paused claims and added a withdrawImmediate function the verified source calls the migration path. Lifetime: 79 stakers, 347,842 ZETA in, 159 ANUMA minted.
Take: Proposal 68’s line that “lock ZETA, receive credits … already works” describes the paused contract, and the live programme is something else. Today you delegate ZETA through ZetaHub, sign a message to bind that wallet to your Anuma account, and Anuma’s server grants USD-denominated credits each month, expiring 30 days later, at a rate the help centre says “can change over time”. On the day I read the dashboard, 10,000 ZETA earned 2,377 credits a year, roughly 4% of the stake’s value at Starter pricing, on top of the 9.37% staking yield, and Pro switches on at 100,000 ZETA. Nothing is spent, burned or settled on-chain; “locked ZETA comes out of circulating supply” means a 21-day unbond.
The product’s own money runs the other way. Anuma sells Free, Starter and Pro plans through Stripe, and the credit programme is a cost the company carries to reward holders. Chain fees, the one revenue line DeFiLlama can measure independently, were $13.57 in the 30 days to 21 September and $32,717 over the year. Anuma’s revenue isn’t disclosed anywhere, including in the MiCAR white paper, which describes the company’s 2022 to 2024 income as “modest” and shifting to “sponsorships”.
How to participate
Use Anuma. Sign up at chat.anuma.ai or in the mobile app; a Privy wallet is created for you. The free plan gives 100 credits a month and every mode, including private mode, which routes to open-weight models on Anuma’s own servers and is enforced server-side. Turn on PII redaction in settings if you want emails, phone numbers and card numbers swapped for placeholders before a prompt leaves the device; it’s off by default and it’s regex, so it won’t catch a name.
Delegate ZETA for credits. Move ZETA onto the ZetaChain L1 (Ethereum ZETA won’t count), delegate to any validator through ZetaHub, then connect an external wallet such as MetaMask on the Token Dashboard and sign once. Credits accrue against the bound balance and expire monthly; the ZETA never leaves your wallet. The 21-day unbond spans a snapshot date that hasn’t been published.
Run a validator. 44 of 75 slots are filled, entry is by delegated stake rather than hardware, and rewards stop at the halt. I wouldn’t start now.
Build. The Anuma Developer Platform gives you a React and Expo SDKSDKSoftware Development Kit. A collection of code libraries, documentation, and tools that lets developers integrate a service into their applications without writing everything from scratch. SDKs are how projects become easy to build with.Like a plug-and-play kit for building furniture. You don't have to mill your own wood, forge your own screws, or design the joinery from scratch. The kit gives you pre-cut parts and instructions so you can assemble the thing in an afternoon.SDK in the glossary →, an OpenAI-compatible Portal API and Privy auth, with inference billed from an app balance. The “earn when others use your agents or memory patterns” use for ZETA is a stated intention with no code behind it yet.
Honest assessment
What works
The memory engineering is the best consumer implementation of encrypted, portable AI memory I’ve reviewed. Field-level AES-GCM, a key that never touches disk, chunked semantic search over your own history, curated vault entries with save confirmation, export and delete that behave, and encrypted backup to storage you already own. It’s open source at the SDK layer and the production bundle matches it. Most “private AI” products can’t show you any of that.
The product is live and busy in the way a consumer app should be: mobile, SMS, image and video generation, a council mode that runs one prompt across several models, and weekly changelogs. Private mode on open-weight models works as described and is enforced server-side.
The corporate side is unusually legible for this sector. A named Delaware entity, a MiCAR white paper with the management body listed, DFSA recognition in Dubai, 16 public audit reports on the chain and contracts, and an on-chain vote that, whatever you think of the outcome, was run by the book.
What doesn’t work
The privacy claim is written for the store and read as if it covered the pipe. Anuma’s embedding server and gateway see every message in plaintext; the closed provider sees whatever context the request needs, which is how the proposal phrases it, and that context is your recalled memory. The client repository is private, so the part of the system that decides what leaves your device is the part you can’t read.
The token story is a subscription discount wearing a whitepaper. The 1 June post listed six uses for ZETA:
- Lock for credits: ran for 23 days before the contract was paused.
- Staking: ends at the halt.
- Earn from published agents, x402x402An open payment protocol from Coinbase that repurposes the long-dormant HTTP 402 status code. A server responds with a price, the client pays in stablecoins on-chain, and the request is fulfilled. No accounts, no API keys, no card details.Like a vending machine for HTTP. The endpoint says "pay 1 cent for this", the agent drops in a coin, and the document comes out. Settles on a blockchain underneath, but the payment layer is invisible to the caller.x402 in the glossary → settlement, on-chain memory permissions, decentralised storage: no code.
What survives migration is: hold ZETA, get credits the company prices.
The growth numbers count wallets. “More than 300,000 people” are Privy wallets created at sign-up, the 18 August post says so, and the company’s own 1.2 million inference requests over seven months work out at about four per account. That’s a funnel, whatever the sign-up counter says.
The risk
Proposal 2 doesn’t exist yet. Snapshot height, halt height, claim process, exchange list, SPL mint authority and audit are all “to follow”, and the proposal says timing depends on exchanges confirming a swap. Until then ZETA is the gas token of a chain that has voted to die, on a 21-day unbond, with 49 exchange pairs that each need re-listing.
The chain’s admin surface is wider than the vote suggests. The x/authority module hands a seven-member group with a six-of-eight vote threshold the messages that update contract bytecode, system contracts and TSS fund migration, and a separate policy lets any one of seven act in an emergency. In August the core team shipped a mainnet build of an “emergency TSS drain” that moves every native asset the threshold wallet still holds (90.9 ETH, 1.77 BTC and about $100k of stables on 21 September) to fixed addresses on a trigger from a company-hosted API, with, in the RFC’s words, “zero zetacore changes”. It hadn’t fired when I checked, and it doesn’t need a vote to.
The credit rate is a company decision. It was cut once on the contract path, the help centre reserves the right to change it, and the treasury paying for it holds 24% of supply under the same company’s control.
My position
I don’t hold ZETA. I’d use Anuma for the memory layer and I’d think hard before putting anything sensitive through a closed model on it, which is the same advice I’d give for ChatGPT. I would move on the token if Proposal 2 landed with an audited SPL mint and a snapshot I could plan around, if the credit programme moved on-chain with a published rate, and if Anuma disclosed subscribers or revenue. None of those has a date.
Freedom Score: 39/100
ZetaChain scores 39/100 (F grade). Full methodology at Freedom Score Methodology.
Infrastructure decentralisation (7/20): The L1 is permissionlessPermissionlessA system anyone can use or build on without asking a gatekeeper. No application, no allowlist, no approval step. If you meet the protocol's on-chain rules, you are in. The opposite of permissioned.Like a public road versus a members' club. Anyone with a car can drive on the road; the club checks your name at the door. Permissionless protocols are the road.Permissionless in the glossary → proof-of-stakeProof of StakeA consensus mechanism where validators earn the right to create new blocks by staking tokens as collateral. If they misbehave, the network slashes their stake. Proof of Stake replaced energy-intensive mining on most modern chains.Like being a licensed auctioneer. You post a bond to get the license, you earn fees for every auction you run, and you lose the bond if you rig an auction. The bigger the bond, the more auctions you get to run.Proof of Stake in the glossary → with 44 bonded validators, top-heavy (the four largest hold 37.8%, the eight largest 70.3%) and scheduled for removal. Everything the AI product runs on is one company: the Portal API, the Bifrost gateway “in our own cluster”, the embedding model, the credit ledger and the moderation layer. After migration the decentralised part is Solana, which ZetaChain neither runs nor secures.
Governance decentralisation (6/20): The vote was real and decisive: 265 million ZETA voted, 58% of bonded stake, 99.44% Yes. It was also narrow. Fourteen of 44 validators voted, the five largest (46% of stake) didn’t, and 73 non-validator addresses carried about half the Yes. Three-quarters of supply went to insiders and company pools, the authority module gives a seven-member group six-of-eight admin power and any one of them emergency power, the core team writes Proposal 2, and nothing is defined for Solana.
Token distribution fairness (5/15): 38.5% to contributors, purchasers and advisors, 36% to the treasury and growth fund, 25.5% to community programmes, no public sale. VestingVestingA schedule that locks up tokens allocated to insiders, investors, and team members, releasing them gradually over months or years. Vesting prevents insiders from dumping on public buyers immediately after launch.Like a new employee's stock options at a startup. You don't get all the shares on day one. They unlock over four years so you stick around and do the work rather than cashing out and leaving.Vesting in the glossary → is meaningful and Proposal 68 leaves it unchanged, which is what keeps this out of the bottom band.
Censorship resistance (4/15): An account-based company product: the bundle carries an account-suspended path, the help centre describes safety screening that quarantines content and a moderation filter on memory saves, and the default routes go to OpenAI, Anthropic, Google and xAI with their policies attached. Private mode on open-weight models is the mitigation and it’s still Anuma’s server. On the chain side, a centrally triggered drain over TSS custody with no governance gate.
Data sovereignty (9/15): The at-rest design is verifiable and good: AES-GCM under a wallet-derived HKDF key held only in memory, in an open SDK the production bundle matches, with export, delete and encrypted backup to your own cloud. The live path is where it breaks: plaintext to Anuma’s embedding endpoint, plaintext through Anuma’s gateway, regex PII redaction that’s off by default, a key derived by silent signing from a Privy wallet, and a closed client. Users control their data with platform dependencies, which is the middle band.
Open source and transparency (8/15): Node, protocol contracts and SDK are MIT, the ZetaStaking and ANUMA contracts are verified, 16 audits are public, and the MiCAR filing names the entity and its officers. Against that, the client and backend are private, the 25 August security patch was applied privately and published nine days later, the credit rate is behind a login and “can change”, and no Anuma usage or revenue figure is independently reportable.
Path to improvement
Three changes would materially raise the score:
- Take the plaintext off the wire. Client-side embeddings (a small on-device model, or encrypted embeddings the server can’t invert) would make “Anuma cannot read your memory” true end to end. It’s the single change that would move this project out of the F band.
- Open the client. Publishing
ai-memoryless-clientwould let anyone verify what leaves the device, which is the claim the whole product rests on. - Define Solana governance before the halt. Proposal 2 should name who holds the SPL mint authority, how the credit rate is set, and what token holders get to vote on once there is no chain to vote on.
Returns Score: 32/100
ZETA scores 32/100 (F grade). Full methodology at Returns Score Methodology.
Token utility (8/20): Today ZETA is gas, stake and vote on an L1, plus the credit programme (delegate, bind, receive credits; Pro at 100,000 ZETA). Gas and voting end at the halt, staking’s future is “under active exploration”, and the one on-chain meter has been paused since June with 159 ANUMA ever minted. What survives is a stake-for-subscription right the company can reprice.
Value accrual (3/20): Nothing Anuma earns reaches the token: no fee share, no buyback, and the only burn is the L1’s base fee on tens of dollars of monthly gas. The credit programme runs the other way, company money to holders. Delegation is a 21-day unbond, not a lock, and the aggregators count bonded ZETA as circulating.
Supply dynamics (9/20): Fixed 2.1B cap and 76.5% circulating per CoinGecko, unverified against the chain. About 490 million ZETA of contributor, purchaser, treasury and growth-fund allocations still vest through February 2028, around 30% of today’s float, with the 24% treasury under company control. The migration adds its own supply event: 18-to-9-decimal rounding, a snapshot with no date, and an SPL mint with no audit published.
Revenue sustainability (4/25): Paying customers exist and nothing is disclosed, so the integrity verdict is unverifiable and the score is discounted to match. The one independent figure is DeFiLlama’s L1 gas, $13.57 in the 30 days to 21 September. Four inference requests per sign-up, on the company’s own numbers, doesn’t read like a subscriber base.
Liquidity and access (8/15): 49 CoinGecko pairs with Coinbase, OKX, Bybit and Gate listed and no Binance spot. Vote-week volume ran at 1.5 times market cap, 54% of it on Upbit and Bithumb won pairs. The token is 97.9% below its February 2024 ATHATHAll-Time High. The highest price a token has ever reached. ATH is usually quoted as a reference point for how far the current price has fallen (or risen) since the peak.Like the record lap time on a racetrack. It tells you what the car has been capable of at its absolute best, not what it will do today. Whether that record gets broken again depends on conditions that may or may not come back.ATH in the glossary →, set its all-time low on 14 August 2026, and every pair has to re-list an SPL token once Proposal 2 names the venues.
Path to improvement
Three changes would materially raise the returns score:
- Put the meter on-chain and publish the rate. A Solana programme that locks ZETA, mints credits at a published rate and burns them on use would turn a loyalty scheme into a measurable utility.
- Disclose Anuma’s revenue. Subscriber counts or a monthly revenue figure, ideally with Stripe-attested totals, would let the revenue dimension rest on something other than a discounted self-report.
- Land Proposal 2 with an audit. A dated snapshot, a named mint authority and an audit of the claim contract would remove the migration discount from supply dynamics and liquidity in one move.
Score change log
| Date | Change | Freedom | Returns |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-09-23 | Data. Integrity records re-cut: 7 claims now quote ZetaChain’s own pages verbatim and 3 are our own measurements. Scores unchanged. | 39 | 32 |
| 2026-09-22 | Initial full review following the 21 September triage. Freedom 39/F, Returns 32/F. | 39 | 32 |
Team overview
Ex-Coinbase, Brave (co-founder of Basic Attention Token) and 0x. Named in the MiCAR white paper as a member of Meta Protocol, Inc.'s management body.
Early contributor to THORChain; PhD. Named in the MiCAR white paper.
Named in the MiCAR white paper as a member of Meta Protocol, Inc.'s management body.
Ex-BuzzFeed, Udacity and Yada, per the August 2023 funding release.
| Round | Amount | Date | Lead |
|---|---|---|---|
| Equity (round type not stated) | $27.0M | 2023-08-17 | Not stated; Blockchain.com and Human Capital listed first |
Source: OYM Research · Last updated 2026-09-28
Technical snapshot
Two layers that are about to be separated. (1) The ZetaChain L1: a Cosmos SDK / CometBFT proof-of-stake chain (chain id 7000, ~3.75s blocks) with an EVM, whose original job was cross-chain: observer-signers run a threshold-signature (TSS) wallet that custodies native assets on Ethereum, BNB Chain, Bitcoin, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Avalanche, Solana, Sui and TON, and an x/crosschain module that turns inbound deposits into ZRC-20 tokens and signs outbound transfers. Inbound was disabled in the June 2026 wind-down; outbound stays on so users can withdraw. (2) Anuma: a consumer multi-model chat app and developer SDK. The app is a Next.js client (private repo) over the open @anuma/sdk (MIT). Chat requests go to Anuma's Portal API and through a self-hosted Bifrost gateway (Maxim AI's open-source router) to 14 providers (OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, xAI, Fireworks, DeepInfra, OpenRouter, Cerebras, Alibaba); 1,008 model ids were listed on 2026-09-21. Memory lives on the device: a per-wallet WatermelonDB store (IndexedDB on web) whose sensitive fields are AES-GCM encrypted under an HKDF key derived from a wallet signature and held only in memory. Two client-side tools give the model recall: a Memory Engine (every message chunked to ~400 characters, embedded, searched by cosine similarity) and a Memory Vault (curated facts). Embeddings are generated by POSTing the text to Anuma's /api/v1/embeddings (Qwen3-Embedding-8B, self-hosted). Backups are encrypted blobs to the user's Google Drive, Dropbox or iCloud. The only on-chain component of the AI product is the ZETA credit programme: a ZetaStaking contract that mints a non-transferable ANUMA ERC-20 (paused since June/July 2026), replaced by an off-chain ledger that reads native delegation and grants USD credits.
Commit Activity
Community
Audits
Scope: ZetaChain security assessment
Report published in the audit-reports repo.
View reportScope: Protocol audit
Report published; a Sui audit followed on 2025-07-11.
View reportScope: Sixteen reports in total covering node, contracts, Bitcoin inscriptions, explorer and website
None found for the ZetaStaking / AnumaToken contracts or for the Anuma SDK and app.
View reportSource: OYM Research · Last updated 2026-09-28
Tokenomics deep dive
Token utility
- Gas on the ZetaChain L1 (EIP-1559-style, a fraction burned): ends at the halt
- Staking / delegation to validators for 75% of block emissions (~9.4% a year on bonded stake on 2026-09-21): ends at the halt; 'what staking becomes on Solana is under active exploration'
- Governance voting on the L1 (Proposal 68 was the one that mattered): no Solana-side governance defined
- Anuma AI credits: bind an external wallet, stay delegated, and Anuma grants USD-denominated credits monthly (10,000 ZETA -> 2,377 credits a year on the 21 Sept 2026 dashboard) plus Pro at 100,000 ZETA staked. Off-chain ledger, rate set by the company, credits expire in ~30 days
- Promised, not built: earning when published agents or memory patterns are used, x402 settlement for memory access and agent calls, paying for on-chain memory permission updates (1 June 2026 'six uses')
Supply
| Max supply | Total supply | Circulating | Circ. % |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2,100,000,000 | 2,100,000,000 | 1,607,083,333 | 76.5% |
Allocation
Method: Team-designed allocation at the February 2024 mainnet: 38.5% to insiders (contributors, purchasers, advisors), 36% to company-controlled pools (treasury, ecosystem fund), 25.5% to community mechanisms (user growth, validator emissions, liquidity). No public sale. Source: zetachain.com/docs/about/token-utility/distribution.
| Category | % | Vesting | Cliff |
|---|---|---|---|
| Protocol Treasury | 24% | 2% at launch; after 12 months, 1/36 of the remainder monthly for 36 months | 12 months on the remainder |
| Core Contributors | 22.5% | From month 6, 1/18 a month for 6 months; after 12 months, 1/36 a month for 24 months | 6 months |
| Purchasers and Advisors | 16% | Same shape as Core Contributors | 6 months |
| Ecosystem Growth Fund | 12% | 1.5% at launch; from month 6, 1/42 of the remainder monthly for 42 months | 6 months on the remainder |
| User Growth Pool | 10% | 4.5% at launch, 0.2% a month for 5 months, then 1/36 of the remainder monthly from month 6 | None |
| Validator Incentives | 10% | Block emissions over 4 years from launch | None |
| Liquidity Incentives | 5.5% | 3% at launch; 1/48 of the remainder monthly | None |
Emissions
Vesting timeline
Protocol Treasury cliff
Core Contributors cliff
Purchasers and Advisors cliff
Ecosystem Growth Fund cliff
None. The 10% validator pool emits on a fixed curve over 4 years from launch; the docs plan ~2.5% annual inflation afterwards. Proposal 68 ends emissions at the halt height instead.
Staking
Mainnet and TGE 1 February 2024; ATH $2.85 on 15 February 2024; ATL $0.0266 on 14 August 2026, five weeks before the migration vote; price up 66% in the seven days to 21 September 2026 on the vote. Volume on the vote day was 1.5x market cap, 54% of it on Korean won pairs. The 1 June 2026 lock contract paid 1.68 then 0.48 ANUMA per ZETA a year (1 ANUMA = 1 credit) before it was paused; the replacement programme paid about 2,377 credits a year per 10,000 ZETA on 21 September 2026, which at Starter pricing is roughly 4% of the stake's dollar value, on top of the 9.37% staking APR.
Source: OYM Research · Last updated 2026-09-28
Participation at a glance
Use Anuma at chat.anuma.ai or the mobile app: Free (100 credits a month), Starter $9.99, Pro $19.99. Sign-up creates a Privy embedded wallet; memory is encrypted on the device.
Delegate ZETA to a validator via ZetaHub, bind the external wallet to an Anuma account with a signature, and receive AI credits monthly plus Pro at 100,000 ZETA staked. Credits expire in ~30 days.
Run a ZetaChain validator (zetacored) and compete for one of 75 slots; 44 are filled. Rewards stop at the halt height.
Build on the Anuma Developer Platform: @anuma/sdk (React, Expo), Portal API (OpenAI-compatible), API keys or Privy auth, developers pay inference from an app balance.
Developer resources
Source: OYM Research · Last updated 2026-09-28
Usage and traction
Data from: ZetaChain LCD, ZetaChain EVM RPC, DeFiLlama, CoinGecko, zetachain.com blog, chat.anuma.ai Token Dashboard (2026-09-21) . Cards dated separately are live readings (DeFiLlama chain TVL).
Research note, 2026-09-21: Anuma launched a private beta on 10 February 2026 (the 'introducing' post), opened Anuma Access to everyone on 25 May, and rebuilt the ZETA programme on 25 June. Sign-ups grew 28,312 in July and 31,000+ in the first 17 days of August per the company. The Token Dashboard's requests chart ran from about 2.5M in July to 3.2M in September 2026.
Source: OYM Research · Last updated 2026-09-28
Community
Governance
Cosmos x/gov on the L1 (72-hour vote, 40% quorum, 50% threshold, 33.4% veto, 1,000 ZETA deposit), with an x/authority module that hands a 7-member group (6-of-8 weight) the admin messages and a 1-of-7 emergency policy. Proposal 68 was the first proposal in a year (Proposal 67 closed 27 Sept 2025). Post-migration governance is undefined. View →
Sentiment
Crypto press covered the vote as a chain shutting itself down (CryptoSlate, The Block, KuCoin, Bloomingbit); the DeAI community has not discussed Anuma as an AI project. On-chain, 69 of 73 non-validator voters and 12 of 14 voting validators said Yes; the one validator No (P10node x Node39) and one veto vote were the whole opposition. The five largest validators sat it out.
Source: OYM Research · Last updated 2026-09-28
Sources consulted (19)
Read next
Project review
Nillion
Blind computation network using MPC, homomorphic encryption, and TEEs for private data storage, computation, and AI inference. Strong thesis, pre-revenue. Migrated from Cosmos to Ethereum. Blacklight verification layer live.
Project review
Oasis Network
Privacy-first Layer 1 with confidential smart contracts via TEE-powered ParaTimes. ROFL mainnet live, Franklin Templeton/BENJI collateral pilot on Sapphire, but TVL still under $1M after five years.
Project review
Cookie DAO
Centralised AI agent analytics platform with a token. Indexes 1,500+ agents via cookie.fun with Mindshare metric. Zero open source code, no verifiable governance. Strong utility, weak sovereignty.